2017 Boris Kostelanetz President’s Medal

On December 11, 2017, the New York County Lawyers Association held its 103rd annual dinner, which included the awarding of the 2017 Boris Kostelanetz President’s Medal — named in honor of the 33rd President of NYCLA, Boris Kostelanetz, and conferred upon a member whose record of dedication and service to the Association and to the legal profession comports with the highest standards.

boris1.jpgThe NYCLA dinner, whose Honorary Co-Chairs were former Secretary of State Hilary Rodman Clinton and Sen. Kristen E. Gillibrand, also celebrated the theme of Outstanding Women in the Legal Profession. Fifty-four outstanding women lawyers were honored by more than 1,000 people at the Grand Hyatt New York in Manhattan.

The Boris Kostelanetz President’s Medal was presented to Eugene P. Souther, who served with distinction as the 43rd President of NYCLA from 1988-1990, and worked tirelessly to improve NYCLA, update its landmark building at 14 Vesey Street, and advance the interests of lawyers throughout New York State.

Boris Kostelanetz is nationally recognized as the "dean" of the tax controversy bar, and he enjoyed a distinguished career in government and in the private sector.  Mr. Kostelanetz graduated from St. John's School of Law in 1936 and became one of the premier criminal tax lawyers in the United States.  He served with distinction as the President of the Law School Alumni Association from 1955 to 1957.  In 1985, St. John's University awarded him an honorary Doctor of Laws degree, in 1988 the Law School presented him with the James Madison Award and in 1999, the Alumni Association presented him with the Charles M. Sparacio Award.